University of Alaska-Fairbanks

Degrees Offered at the University of Alaska – Fairbanks

The University of Alaska-Fairbanks appears in our ranking of the Top 20 Affordable Online Master’s in Law Enforcement Administration Programs.

The University of Alaska – Fairbanks is made up of nine schools and colleges, which include the College of Engineering and Mines, the College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences, the College of Liberal Arts, the College of Natural Science and Mathematics, the College of Rural and Community Development, the Division of General Studies, the School of Education, the School of Management, and the Graduate School. Within these nine schools and colleges, there is an abundance of certificate, associate, bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral programs for students to choose to study. Students attending this university typically choose to major in liberal arts and humanities, business, mechanical engineering, biology, nursing assistant, homeland security and disaster management, and medical assistant.

In 1955, the University of Alaska – Fairbanks’ very first doctoral degree was awarded to a graduating student. Since then, the number of doctoral degrees that the university offers have continued to grow. The following are the current doctoral degrees offered by this university:

  • Doctor of Anthropology (Ph.D.)
  • Doctor of Atmospheric Science (Ph.D.)
  • Doctor of Biochemistry and Neuroscience (Ph.D.)
  • Doctor of Biological Sciences (Ph.D.)
  • Doctor of Engineering (Ph.D.)
  • Doctor of Environmental Chemistry (Ph.D.)
  • Doctor of Fisheries (Ph.D.)
  • Doctor of Geophysics (Ph.D.)
  • Doctor of Geoscience (Ph.D.)
  • Doctor of Indigenous Science (Ph.D.)
  • Doctor of Interdisciplinary Studies (Ph.D.)
  • Doctor of Marine Biology (Ph.D.)
  • Doctor of Mathematics (Ph.D.)
  • Doctor of Natural Resources and Sustainability (Ph.D.)
  • Doctor of Oceanography (Ph.D.)
  • Doctor of Physics (Ph.D.)

Additionally, the university has an eCampus for students who are unable to commute to campus. The objective of the programs offered by the eCampus is to provide flexibility, accessibility, and convenience to all students regardless of other life obligations. Below is a list of some of the degrees that students may earn online at the University of Alaska – Fairbanks:

  • Associate of Applied Science (A.A.S.) in Accounting
  • Associate of Arts (A.A.)
  • Associate of Applied Science (A.A.S.) in Business
  • Associate of Applied Science (A.A.S.) in Early Childhood Education
  • Associate of Applied Science (A.A.S.) in Information Technology Specialist
  • Associate of Applied Science (A.A.S.) in Paralegal Studies
  • Bachelor of Business Administration (B.B.A.)
  • Bachelor of Security and Emergency Management
  • Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) in Psychology
  • Bachelor of Sport and Recreation Business
  • Master of Business Administration (M.B.A.)
  • Master of Arts (M.A.) in Justice Administration
  • Master of Security and Disaster Management
  • Master of Education (M.Ed.) in Special Education

About the University of Alaska – Fairbanks

The University of Alaska – Fairbanks, formerly known as the Alaska Agricultural College and School of Mines, is a public university that opened its doors in the year 1917. It is located in the city of Fairbanks, Alaska, and is considered a small educational institution with its undergraduate population of fewer than 2,800 students. The university has a graduation rate of 32 percent and a large campus covering more than 2,200 acres of land.

The core goals are to educate, research, prepare, connect, and engage. The university uses each of these core goals to provide its students with the knowledge and skills to achieve a life of learning and a dream career. According to U.S. News & World Report, the University of Alaska – Fairbanks ranks 128th for top public schools and 153rd for best undergraduate programs in engineering. Individuals interested in applying to this university may find it less competitive to gain admittance, as it possesses an acceptance rate of 76 percent.

University of Alaska – Fairbanks Accreditation Details

The University of Alaska – Fairbanks has received its accreditation from the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU). The NWCCU is a regional accrediting agency that is located in Redmond, Washington. It is responsible for providing accreditation to colleges and universities in its specific region, which includes the seven states of Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington.

Several programs at the university have received additional accreditation from agencies and organizations, such as the Engineering Accreditation Commission, Computing Accreditation Commission, American Alliance of Museums, the American Bar Association, American Chemical Society, the American Psychological Association, the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs, Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs, Council on Social Work Education, the Federal Aviation Administration, the National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation, the National Association for Developmental Education, the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation, and more.

University of Alaska – Fairbanks Application Requirements

Undergraduate applicants must fill out an application form, pay the application fee, turn in high school transcripts, and submit test scores.

Graduate applicants must fill out an application form, pay the application fee, turn in a resume, write a statement of goals, provide three letters of recommendation, submit undergraduate transcripts, and provide test scores.

Tuition and Financial Aid

In-state undergraduate students attending the University of Alaska – Fairbanks are required to pay annual tuition of $8,868, and out-of-state undergraduate students are required to pay annual tuition of $26,538. This does not include room and board or any additional fees.

In-state graduate students attending the university can expect to pay $10,824 per year, and out-of-state graduate students can expect to pay $21,426 per year. This does not include room and board or any additional fees.

Undergraduate students have the option of earning a Nanook Pledge scholarship or a Foundation scholarship. There are over 400 different Foundation scholarships, and all applicants are considered for each scholarship automatically depending on their qualifications. The Nanook Pledge scholarship is a merit scholarship for freshman students, transfer students, and readmitted students. Each student may receive this scholarship based on their academic accomplishments.

The University of Alaska – Fairbanks also offers a financial aid program for graduate students called Graduate Tuition Assistance or Research Assistance. This program is offered by specific academic departments.

To find out more information about the degrees currently offered, please visit the website of the University of Alaska – Fairbanks.